2017 Programme

The theme for Bangor Music Festival 2017 was ‘Architecture and Urban Landscapes’ which was particularly suitable since the Festival was held for the very first time at Pontio Bangor, and made full use of this new and innovative building.

The Festival took place on the 18 & 19 February 2017, with the first day being held at Pontio, and the second day including an event in the School of Music, Bangor University.

The William Mathias Competition Prize in memory of the celebrated composer included a call for scores where composers were tasked to compose a piece between 4 and 8 minutes to be performed by the Fidelio Trio.

From the compositions received, three were chosen in order to go through to the next stage which included a workshop with the Fidelio Trio and Roger Marsh.

The three compositions which were considered for the prize were:

Hapusrwydd by Rachel Branston
Tri o Lefydd by Ellie Davies,
Block by Claire Victoria Roberts

The winning composition was Claire Victoria Roberts’ and she was awarded £500 by the Mathias family, a performance of her work during the festival concert by the Fidelio Trio, and will be commissioned to compose a new work for the festival in 2018.

A Lego workshop was held in the foyer at Pontio, where musicians from the Bangor New Music Ensemble performed Lego by James Jarvis (world premiere), a piece which used music to interact with structures which the public were encouraged to build out of Lego.

At the same time a Minecraft project was held in the MediaLab in partnership with Owen Davies from the Bangor University School of Education. The project used the Minecraft computer game to create musical structures, whilst also learning about computer coding.

At noon the Caban Art Exhibition was filled with the sound of the Bangor Fusion Ensemble during the free Meditation event which included improvised music.

The Urban Landscapes concert was held in the Studio and welcomed artists Juliet Fraser (soprano) and Richard Craig (flutes) and Alex Bailey (sound technician).

Gareth Olubunmi Hughes: Amber on Black III for voice, flute and live electronics (BMF commission and world premiere)
John Croft: Intermedio I for bass flute and live electronics
Patricia Alessandrini: Esquisse d’apres Artaud for flute, voice and live electronics
Pupils of Ysgol Llangefni: new work (premiere)
Gerard Pape: Two Electro-Acoustic Songs: 1. time caught in a net; 2. on the road at night, for flute, voice and tape
Jesse Ronneau: fhbf for solo bass flute and electronics
Patricia Alessandrini: Spento è già in me l’ardore

The Bridges concert was held in the Cinema and included works composed by students of Bangor University’s School of Music performed by the Bangor Session Orchestra saxophone quartet. The composers also worked with the Bangor University School of Media to produce the film.

Performers: Annie Thomas (Alto), Harriet Courtney (Soprano), Emily Sweeney-Davies (Tenor), Clive Swithinbank (Baritone).

Film Makers: Annekathrin Dechert, Charlotte WellsMarcela Muñoz, Mike Revell, Rory Farmer.

Manon Llwyd & Band’s Fusion Welsh Cakes event took place in the Gorad Restaurant with John Williams on keyboard, Owen Lloyd Evans on bass and Ged Lynch on the drums.

Architectonics I – Bangor New Music Ensemble took place in Pontio’s public spaces and made use of the building with performances taking place on the different floors.

Performers: Robyn Boulton (soprano), Madeline Rose Towell and Christopher Schelb (flutes), Rebecca Winter (oboe), Thomas Renfree and Christina Jefferson (clarinets), Samuel Hunt (basoon), Charlotte Danford (horn), Daisy Eliza Wrightson (trumpet), Thomas Evans (tenor trombone), Jonathan Roberts (bass trombone), Alice Esther Teulon and Claire Victoria Roberts (violin), Zach Reading (viola), Anastasia Zaponidou (cell0). Directors: Richard Craig and Guto Pryderi Puw.

Daisy Wrightson: Standing ‘Gainst this is Humanity (world premiere)
Erkki-Sven Tüür: Architectonics I
Claire Victoria Roberts: Descent (world premiere)
Alex Winberg: Emergence on C, A and Bb (world premiere)
Jonathan Roberts: The Great Divide (world premiere).

The Fidelio Trio were welcomed to Theatr Bryn Terfel during the Towers of Silence concert.

Gavin Higgins: Ruins of Detroit
Morgan Hayes: Völklinger Hütte
Rolf Hind: Towers of Silence

Sarah Lianne Lewis: of lines and traces (BMF commission and world premiere)
Roger Marsh: Crack (BMF commission and world premiere)
Iannis Xenakis: Mikka S
Winner of the William Mathias Composition Prize 2017
New piece by pupils from Bro Lleu and Brynaerau Schools.

Our Supporters in 2017